How to Factory Reset an iPhone, From 11 on Down

Would you like a clean slate to start again with your iPhone? If you’ve been having problems with your iPhone or you want to wipe it clean before selling it or passing it on, then you need to know how to perform a factory reset. A factory reset essentially scrubs your device of any and all personal settings and data you’ve acquired through the years, which includes all your messages, photos, music, contacts, calendar entries, and all other files. It may seem daunting, but restoring any iPhone to its original factory settings, whether it’s an iPhone 11, iPhone XS Max, or an iPhone SE, is a simple process that requires little more than your phone and five minutes of your time.
Scroll down for our quick guide on how to factory reset an iPhone. The exact process for doing this may vary slightly depending on which version of iOS your iPhone is running, but it’s essentially the same whether you’re performing a factory reset using iTunes or your untethered phone. You can also follow the same directions when performing a factory reset on any of your iOS devices.
Is your iPhone frozen or not responding? Follow our guide on how to reset an iPhone so that you can get back up and running again. You should also check out our troubleshooting guide because there are many steps you can take to fix problems with your iPhone even if a factory reset doesn’t fix your issue.
How to factory reset an iPhone using iCloud
Whether you have an iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone XS, an iPhone 8, an iPhone SE, an iPhone 7 or 7 Plus, or an older model, like the iPhone 4, 4S, 5, or 5S, the easiest way to factory reset your iPhone is to use iCloud.
Step 1: Prepare your iPhone for restoration

Apple’s iCloud is turned on by default nowadays when you sign in with your Apple ID. To decide what you want to back up, go to Settings > [Your Name] > iCloud, or go to Settings > iCloud in some older versions of iOS — and toggle on the items you’d like to back up. We recommend you choose to back up almost everything, but especially your Photos, Mail, Contacts, and Notes.

Once you have toggled these on, scroll down and tap on iCloud Backup then toggle it On (if it isn’t already) and tap Back Up Now. Bear in mind that you’ll need to be connected to Wi-Fi and that it may take a while to complete the backup.
For more detailed instructions, check out our guide on how to use iCloud to back up your iPhone.
Alternatively, you can use your PC or laptop. Connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and click the gray Back Up Now button when viewing the Summary tab for your given device in iTunes.
Step 2: Access the Reset menu

Tap the main Settings icon when viewing the home screen, select General from the resulting menu, and tap the Reset button at the bottom of the page.
Step 3: Reset your iPhone

Tap the blue Erase All Content and Settings option near the top. If you haven’t backed up as we suggested, then you’ll be prompted to do so. You’ll then be prompted to enter your passcode. Tap the red Erase iPhone option in the resulting pop-up window to confirm your decision.
Step 4: Restore your iPhone
Once the reset process is complete — a process that may take up to several minutes — check to ensure your phone has been restored to its original factory settings. If done correctly, you’ll once again be presented with the iOS Setup Assistant upon startup.
You’ll have to log in and set up your iPhone from scratch once it has been factory reset. The prompts will ask you whether you want to restore from your iCloud account, set up a completely fresh phone without any of your previous settings, or use iTunes and a PC to put your old content onto the phone again.
If you’re interested in what all the iPhone Reset options mean, then skip to the last page of this article. If you want to perform a factory reset using iTunes, read on.
How to factory reset an iPhone using iTunes (the old way)
Performing a factory reset on an iPhone — whether it’s a 4S or an iPhone XS Max — is easier when you use iCloud and reset directly from the device, but you can still use Apple’s aging iTunes with a PC. This is useful if you have traditionally used this method and are a longtime iPhone owner.
Note that Apple is retiring iTunes for Mac OS this fall and splitting its functions into different apps. Device syncing on Mac computers will be handled via the Finder, but you can rest assured that we’ll update this guide with the necessary steps when it happens. You’ll still be able to use iTunes on Windows computers.
Step 1: Prepare your iPhone for restoration
First, launch iTunes as you would normally. If you’re on a Mac, click the iTunes menu located on the left side of the main toolbar, and if you’re on Windows, click the Help menu on the right. Select Check for Updates from the resulting drop-down menu, and ensure you have the latest version of iTunes. If not, download and install the latest version. Afterward, connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and click the gray Back Up Now button when viewing the Summary tab for your given device. Alternatively, follow our guide on how to use iCloud to back up the device to Apple’s remote servers. Although backing up your device is not necessary, doing so will store your photos, apps, contacts, settings, and other data so you can automatically restore other iOS devices from the backup down the line.
If you’re using an iPhone 4S or a newer device, you’ll have to disable Find My iPhone. To do so, tap the main Settings icon when viewing the home screen, select iCloud, and tap Find My iPhone. Then, toggle the slider at the top to disable the feature if you haven’t done so already.
Step 2: Restore your iPhone
Once the backup is complete, click the gray Restore iPhone button when viewing the Summary tab for your given device. Click the Restore button in the resulting pop-up window to confirm your decision, and if prompted, click Agree to accept the software license agreement and begin downloading the necessary iOS software file before restoring.
Step 3: Ensure the phone was restored
Once the restoration process is complete — a process that may take up to several minutes — check to ensure your phone has been restored to its original factory settings. If done correctly, you’ll once again be presented with the iOS Setup Assistant upon startup, from which you can then restore your phone from a backup or continue the process as if you were setting it up anew. It’s like it just came off the assembly line in China all over again.
What do all those different reset options mean?
When you’re resetting your iPhone, iOS presents you with a host of different options, and it can be confusing deciding which ones to choose. Usually, you’ll want to perform the aforementioned factory reset, but here’s an explanation of what the other options do so that you can choose the best reset for your needs.
Note: If you are selling your phone or turning it over to someone else, the only one that safely erases everything and takes your phone back to its original state is Erase All Contents and Settings.

Genevieve Poblano/Digital Trends
Reset All Settings
If you choose this option, you won’t lose all your data, but you will lose your settings and Wi-Fi passwords. Manual settings will disappear, sure, but you’ll still have your pictures, apps, and other content.
Erase All Content and Settings
This is the option we described at the start of this post, which erases everything from your device. Your settings, pictures, apps, and other data will vanish for good — unless you’ve backed up your content.
Reset Network Settings
Sometimes you just need to refresh your network settings to set up a better connection. Choosing this option resets your network settings, flushes the cache, and deletes any temporary files you have stored on your device. It’s great for those who are experiencing trouble with various Wi-Fi connections.
Reset Keyboard Dictionary
Sometimes autocorrect can do more damage than good. If you feel like your iPhone is always suggesting typos and the wrong words to you based on your previous messages, you can always reset the keyboard dictionary.
Reset Home Screen Layout
Although most people like to set up their smartphone’s home screen with their favorite apps, sometimes it’s nice to change things up a bit. If you ever want to go back to the original home screen layout that came with your phone, you can choose this reset option.
Reset Location and Privacy
Sometimes, when you start tapping around in settings, you can mess things up. If you want to go back to your phone’s original privacy and location settings, this is the reset for you. All other info will remain intact.

Editors’ Recommendations


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *